BL Drama Review: Gameboys (Season 1)

Title: Gameboys
Pairing: Kokoy de Santos (Gavreel Alarcon) x Elijah Canlas (Cairo Lazaro)
Aired: 2020.05.22 – 2020.09.13 (YouTube)

2020. One of the worst years in this century. But in the middle of the worldwide pandemic, a blossoming Filipino gamer Cairo (IGN: Caimazing) met a “fan” Gavreel Alarcon (IGN: Angel2000) who beat him hard online and the consequence? Gav would be courting Cai.

I started BL through Japanese media (1999 – 2000). Although I had tried Filipino media with “gay” contents during those days, they felt surprisingly different from the usual yaoi that I knew. (Later, I would learn that yaoi is distinctive from bara). So just imagine my excitement when the first Filipino BL streamed FREE on YouTube.

I remembered watching Kokoy on TV commercials during his young days, and then later on an indie film, F#*@BOIS. He has been charming and beautiful on camera so his role as Gav seemed like a tailor-fit for him. I never knew Elijah until Gameboys so I became an instant follower after episode 1.

Seeing Gav and Cai as gamers remind me of VeeWise, my favorite gamers from Blacklist International (players of Mobile Legends: Bang Bang) so I got really hooked with the story.

And Pearl – yes, the QUEEN herself- has become a first female character I liked from a BL series. Her role is vital for both Cai and Gav, and also the other characters. GAH, TERRENCE. Oh my God. The amount of hate I had for this b*tch – – – (but he later became okay so, don’t mind him anymore.) Wesley is a nice friend. I just didn’t like the way he meddled between the lovers just because of his happy crush.

At the first minutes of episode 1, I was like skeptical – the format was WAY TOO DIFFERENT from the usual. But at the 10th minute, I was literally hooked. Who wouldn’t thought that another BL series would keep me alive during that dark time of pandemic and quarantine? Then, learning the BTS would make me understand how the whole crew, including the actors, worked behind iPhones and Zoom bridge meetings. It was really an amazing production and an immaculate series!!

I also liked the tribute they did for all those dear ones that had passed due to the virus and the front liners who risked their own lives during the height of the pandemic. Right now, even though it has already been 3 years since its release, whenever I say pandemic, I will always be reminded of Gameboys, of CaiReel, and of EliKoy.

Final Score: 9.5/10
Just like how BrightWin saved me during the pandemic, EliKoy did the same. And I am so proud that finally, a Filipino BL series that I can relate to! Games, cute boys, in love — WHY NOT!?

It’s kind of late, but Happy Gameboys Day! (May 22)
And HAPPY PRIDE MONTH!

What you can say?